A First blog post… or something like it.

So first off, I never thought I’d be a person that writes a blog, or be a “blogger” as they are commonly referred to. However, seeing that the easiest way to inform people on my life living as a fish out of water is to start a blog I figured I’d go for it. I can’t promise you it will be interesting, or captivating, or that I’ll even use correct grammar and spelling, but I will do my best to at least inform you on what it is like living in Uganda (when I get there anyway).

But as a first post, or letter, or message, or what ever this is, I wanted to write about why I wanted to do what I am doing. It isn’t easy deciding to move away from everything you know to go live in a place where Netflix is far less accessible and they have a way smaller variety of  restaurants available, but hopefully after reading you might get a small grasp of why I’m doing it. ( I promise I’m not crazy, not completely anyway)

When I really think hard about why I am doing this, I guess it’s really just so I can live in a place that allows me to wear my head lamp on a more regular basis… (and pretend to be Bear Grylls!)  with the added bonus of having the ability to simplify my life (hence the need for having to wear the head lamp) while being in a position to help others, spread the love of Jesus, explore unknown places, and see some gorillas.

So I invite you to follow me on this adventure.  I have no idea how often this will get updated due to limited internet or lack of words, but I will do my best to always update it.  I’ll end my fist post with a quote that I feel really expresses my main motivation and desire for doing this. (I love quotes and will probably use them often #unoriginalthinker)

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

– Mark Twain

Until next time,

Ryan

P.S. If you are curious as to the name “feifei” I don’t blame you. But it was a name that was given to me in undergraduate school and it just stuck (needless to say I lost a bet) But seeing that it is what I lot of people call me and “ryantravels” was already taken I went with it. Hopefully it’s not a deal breaker.

Leave a Reply

